Cash transfers for those affected by lockdown

Munyaradzi Doma
The Government has approved a cash transfer programme which will benefit all those affected by the 21-day national lockdown, which was ordered by President Emmerson Mnangagwa to contain the spread of the deadly Covid-19.
The cash transfer programme which is part of the actions plans was presented to cabinet by chairperson of the inter-ministerial taskforce on Covid-19 Vice President Kembo Mohadi.
It was also agreed that the Department of Social Welfare should ensure that registration of vulnerable communities should be stepped up in order to ensure that all households affected by the lockdown are catered for.
“That measures be put in place to ensure that the economy continues to work throughout the lockdown period.
“That the cash transfer programme be expedited to assist the affected individuals during the lockdown period.
“That the cash transfer be targeted at those that have lost their resources or livelihoods due to the measures put in place to combat the spread of Covid-19, including those in the informal sector,” read the statement.
Cabinet also approved that banking details which will be used for receipt of donations towards Covid-19 will be publicised and that there should be a central receiving point of donations.
It was also agreed that Minister of Finance and Economic Development Professor Mthuli Ncube funds Chemplex Company so that it avails water purification chemicals for local authorities to provide enough potable water for residents.
The move is meant to ensure enough water is available to residents so as to decongest the already few water points, to promote social distancing.
“That the Minister of Finance and Economic Development funds Chemplex to enable the company to avail chemicals for water purification, thereby making the provision of water possible.
“That local authorities improve the provision of water to communities through decongesting the already available water points and availing additional water points, particularly in the medium and high density areas,” added the statement.
It was also agreed that face masks and hand sanitizers be produced locally by institutions of higher learning and pharmaceutical companies.
Duty of materials used in the manufacture of drugs and other materials used in the Covid-19 response has been suspended.
Cabinet also agreed that Covid-19 treatment and isolation centres be mapped in five central/referral hospitals, 10 provincial hospitals and 52 district hospitals under the supervision of the Health and Child Care and Local Government and Public Works ministries.
Issuance of birth certificates, national identity cards and passports will be suspended and only burial orders and death certificates will be issued.
“That the Public Service Commission tracks the transportation of civil servants to and from work to ensure that buses are fumigated and with passengers being sanitised as they enter the bus.
“That ZUPCO buses be deployed to all towns and cities to ferry people that provide essential services,” added the statement.
There will be weekly updates from the taskforce while ministers Obadiah Moyo and Monica Mutsvangwa will provide regular updates as Government moves to operationalise the agreed action plan.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every day.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here