COVID-19: ED sets up ministerial task force


Munyaradzi Doma

President Mnangagwa has set up an ad hoc inter-ministerial task force following the outbreak of the Coronavirus (COVID-19).

The disease which has already been declared a pandemic has claimed one life in Zimbabwe.

Two cases have been confirmed so far.

The taskforce, according to the Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet, Dr Misheck Sibanda, Health and Child Care minister Obadiah Moyo will chair the task force.

He said Dr Moyo was also required to use the Civil Protect Unit which has the requisite geographical spread and representation for maximum, effective collective response and action.

The terms of reference for the taskforce include monitoring of the situation and manage the response to the COVID-19 outbreak and identify any gaps for corrective actions.

“To raise the general awareness of the public to the pandemic. To mobilise domestic and international financial resources to adequately respond to the outbreak.

“To engage private sector associations that include captains of industry and business, religious leaders, local authorities, traditional leaders and Zimbabweans in the diaspora for support in the implementation of identified initiatives.”

Dr Sibanda said taskforce is also expected to rally all stakeholders towards the successful fight of the pandemic.

“These include among others, the Zimbabwe Medical Association, its affiliates and all stakeholders in the medical field and;

“To regularly update His Excellency the President, Cabinet and the nation on the country’s state of preparedness and response to the Covid-19 outbreak.”

Dr Moyo will be deputised by Locxal Government and Public Works minister July Moyo.

Other members of the taskforce include Oppah Muchinguri-Kashiri (Defence and War Veterans), Sibusiso Moyo (Foreign Affairs and International Trade), Kazembe Kazembe (Home Affairs) and Cain Mathema (Primary and Secondary).

The taskforce also includes ministers Joel Biggie Matiza (Transport and Infrastructural Development), Mangaliso Ndlovu (Environment, Climate, Tourism and Hospitality Industry) and Monica Mutsvangwa (Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services).

Finance and Economic Development minister Mthuli Ncube and his Higher and Tertiary Education, Innovation, Science and Technology Development counterpart Amon Murwira are also part of the taskforce.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every day.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here